In the state of California, you are required to have proof of insurance whenever you operate your vehicle. Acceptable forms of proof include a physical insurance card or a digital copy on your mobile phone. You should be able to produce proof of coverage on the spot anytime it is required by a law enforcement officer or when an accident occurs.
California’s Car Insurance Grace Period
California has a new car insurance grace period of 30 days, so you will not be required to provide proof of insurance as soon as you leave the car lot. This means that you have 30 days from the date of purchase to obtain auto insurance coverage for your new car and provide it to the state DMV. If your previous vehicle was covered under an existing policy, the grace period is extended to 45 days for coverage on your new car. The professionals at Capistrano Premier Insurance Services of San Juan Capistrano, CA are available for any questions you have regarding the California car insurance grace period.
Getting Car Insurance Before Buying A Car
However, it is important to note that you are not protected in the event of an accident during the grace period. If you are involved in an automobile accident during the grace period and you do not have insurance coverage, you may be held personally liable for any related costs to that accident. Therefore, you may want to consider buying insurance before you purchase your new car.
Purchasing car insurance before you buy a new car is just as simple as picking out your new car. All you have to do is contact an insurance company and pay for the new policy.
While you may be in a hurry, it is not in your best interest to make a spur-of-the-moment purchase. Obtaining the right coverage requires careful planning and comparison shopping. When you are ready to find the coverage you need, contact Capistrano Premier Insurance Services of San Juan Capistrano, CA for more information.